Upgrades Cause Weeks of Outages of NICs System
On 9 occasions this week the National Instant Criminal Background Check System reported outages that delayed checks for customers at licensed gun dealers.
Ordinarily, the Federal Bureau of Investigation has a 99 percent rate of success [more]
California Lawmakers Passes Firearm Safety Bill
SACRAMENTO, Calif. —California lawmakers on Friday acted on bills that tackle firearm safety and add rules for ammunition sales.
The Senate unanimously passed SB505 by Sen. Hannah-Beth Jackson, D-Santa Barbara. It would require officers to search [more]
New Gun Safety Group for Sensible Gun Laws
For years, the National Rifle Association (NRA) has remained unchallenged in both strength and influence. Initially a hunting club, its founding members created the organization in 1871 to support hunting, marksmanship and to promote responsible [more]
FBI No Background Check for Pot Dealers
OLYMPIA, Wash. - Individuals interested in getting into the marijuana business do not go through background checks. The FBI's refusal of the checks would apparently complicate the efforts taken by the state to keep criminals [more]
New Jersey Background Check and Gun Laws
In New Jersey
, firearm owners are required to get a lifetime Firearm Purchaser card for the purchase of rifles, shotguns or handguns as well as ammunition. To purchase a handgun, a separate permit is needed from the local police department for each handgun to be purchased and expires after 90 days. These, like the initial Firearms Identification card, require in-depth application questioning, multiple references and background checks via the State Bureau of Identification and New Jersey State Police. NJ law states that Firearms Identification approval and/or handgun purchase permit(s) must be issued within 30 days.
Capacities of semiautomatic handguns and rifles (total in magazine excluding chamber) are limited to 15 rounds or less. N.J. Rev. Stat § 2C:39-1y. New Jersey allows the purchase, possession and use of hollowpoint
ammunition except in concert with any sort of criminal activity. New Jersey has its own ban on various semi-automatic firearms as well. Police are bound by the Assault Weapons
Ban (AWB) in NJ and cannot own those firearms unless they are signed off by the Chief as used in an official capacity. They are exempt from the magazine limits when used in a duty/off duty firearm and approved by the department.
It is the express policy of New Jersey legislative and law enforcement authorities that the carrying of a handgun on one's person be strictly limited only to those earning a living through the carrying of a handgun. Theoretically, there exists a route for a civilian to legally carry a handgun, but in reality, is practically nonexistent.
Starting January 1, 2010, New Jersey limited handgun purchases to one per 30 day period.